Sorry for the downtime, welcome back!!

Quilting Woes

Discuss how you complete your crafts...
Lalina
Rank 4 - Raccoon Mario
Rank 4 - Raccoon Mario

Quilting Woes

Post by Lalina »

I am currently trying to make a quilt but I do not have the floor space to spread it out completely on the floor (I am a student). Any tips on how I could baste my quilt sandwich? Right now I am thinking about buying curved safety pins and trying to isolate a few sections at a time but I worry that it will be uneven and that the pins won't be secure enough. I am new to quilting and am open to suggestions. Worst case senario will have me going to a public place with adequate space and using its floor.
Current Projects:
- Game of Thrones/Mario World Mash-up (cross-stitch)

funkymonkey
Rank 10 - Cape Mario
Rank 10 - Cape Mario

Re: Quilting Woes

Post by funkymonkey »

I don't have a ton of quilting experience, but I would say there's no substitute to laying it all out flat. I'd find a corner of a library or other open room to do the deed.

Knittenkitten
Rank 7 - Kuribo Mario
Rank 7 - Kuribo Mario

Post by Knittenkitten »

I agree. I've only done a few small ones but I still would find an area with a big enough floor space to do the sandwiching. Does your university offer a textiles degree? If so, there should be a room or two where they do all of their sewing in which should be big enough I think.
WIPs:
LoZ:LTTP Map (page 13 of 15)
Save the Stitches Blackwork
Frederick the Literate Kit
Butterfly Scroll Kit
Rainbow Gallery's Specialty Stitch Alphabet

tnitnetny
Rank 10 - Cape Mario
Rank 10 - Cape Mario

Post by tnitnetny »

There is a technique to do a section at a time on a large table, but I do not advise this. In order to make sure you don't have any puckers you will need to make sure the entire backing is laid flat and taped down so it does not move. If you don't have room where you live, then you would need to find someplace else.